Find a
Select grade level(s) Select resource type(s) Select collection(s) Select standard(s) Skip navigation Digital Library for Earth System Education
Digital Library for Earth System Education
Search tips
Temperate Oceans: Light Zones
This reference provides an overview of the three zones into which the ocean can be divided based on the amount of light recieved: the sunlit (or euphotic) zone, the twilight (or disphotic) zone, and the midnight (or aphotic) zone. The descriptions are accompanied by diagrams and a brief listing of the organisms that live in each zone.
Intended for grade levels:
  • Intermediate (3-5)
  • Middle (6-8)
  • High (9-12)
Type of resource:
  • Visual:
    • Illustration - scientific
  • Text:
    • Ref. material
  • Ecology
  • Ocean Sciences:
    • Biological oceanography
    • Physical oceanography
Technical requirements:
No specific technical requirements, just a browser required
Cost / Copyright:
No cost
Copyright 2002, Missouri Botanical Garden.
DLESE Catalog ID: DLESE-000-000-008-926
Resource contact / Creator / Publisher:
Publisher: Missouri Botanical Garden

Contact: Jennifer Krause
Missouri Botanical Garden