Find a
Select grade level(s) Select resource type(s) Select collection(s) Select standard(s) Skip navigation Digital Library for Earth System Education
Digital Library for Earth System Education
Search tips
1 result
Comment on this resource
This USGS site explains what an aquifer is and defines the different types of aquifers based on six principal lithologies; sandstone, carbonate, sandstone-carbonate, igneous and metamorphic, sand and gravel, and other rock types. The site features maps and descriptions of the major aquifers in the United States as well as general information about groundwater occurrence and quality. The site also ... Full description.
Grade level: High (9-12), College (13-14), College (15-16), Graduate / Professional
Resource type: Map, Ref. material, Government portal
Subject: Physical geography, Geology, Hydrology
Choosing & Using this resource...
Pedagogical help
Misconceptions: Read (1)
Related resources and collections
This resource is part of :
This resource is included in the following collections:
Cutting Edge    Browse collection
Pedagogically Annotated Collection     Browse collection